Exhibitions, portraits

Cosmic Drift

More space babes were requested…  more space babes were delivered! Continuing on from my gold dusted celestial collection shown a few months ago in ‘the Taster Show’, I finally got to work on a larger scale.  These new works were on display at the Angel Coffee House in Lincoln for 2 weeks in July 2019; one of my favourite places to hang (get it?!). Working on black is now one of my favourite portrait techniques, I find it makes the subjects truly luminous, and besides, what could be more apt for the backdrop of space?

 

71365539-1804-46E7-BE04-ECE68496F191

As expected, the paintings I felt unsure about were the most popular, with more than one buyer after the same piece. The display was wonderfully complimented by the guided moons of Alexandra Foxley-Johnson, they were simply stunning! I made a few sales too – which is always reassuring.

Now that I’m confident in working larger, I’d like to see how large I can go… possibly with more figures and with more narrative per piece. My next show falls on Pride, with the theme of ‘intimacy’ so I’m thinking I can easily tie to this series; the subjects of women in regards to creation and the universe, something very close to my heart.

 

Watch this space for more new work, September 2019!

Leave a comment